Route-e-toot-toot!

I booked my ticket today and so decided such a momentous and, clearly pivotal moment in the onemanandhisbag tale deserved some blog action!  Some of you may be of the opinion that the following map detailing my route is the product of a man with way too much time on his hands.  To a certain extent you would be correct (took me AGES to do the cork hat!), although with a departure date of Monday 6th December now set, the currency of my time in the UK has shot up in value!

Regarde le route du monde ———>  (hot blog tip – click the image for bigger pic! kapow!)

My RTW route!

The fact that this route has any amount of coherency to it at all is largely down to the guidance of David Woodward at STA Travel in Leicester (no less than 3 hours of it!!).  There comes a point in every man’s life when, despite making every effort to avoid anything resembling a plan, you just have to have a plan.  I comforted my plan-averse inner self with the thought that if it’s good enough for Hannibal Smith then it’s good enough for me, and I will LOVE it if it comes together.  FOOL!

But that’s it!  The planning starts and ends here with the booking of the ticket.  That’s the deal, no socks and no plans.

My other experience today was less than pleasurable, and that was my vaccinations.  I was suitably chastised by Nurse Needleface for ‘leaving it until the last minute’.  If it wasn’t for Jenny Allen asking if I’d had them yet, the thought of vaccines would never have crossed my mind, shocking eh?  That and the constant gentle reminders from Amanda Cooke to book my appointment!  So, I was too late for a course of malaria vaccines and will now have to take tablets on arrival in Costa Rica in preparation for the rest of Central America, although the area is generally low risk so it’s just a precaution.  However, Nurse Needleface was able and willing to inject me with small amounts of Hep A, Typhoid, Tetanus, Diphtheria and Polio which have been merrily working their way through my system making both arms feel like they’ve been hit by a David Haye trademark ‘haye-maker’ in the process!  Not the best feeling in the World, but no doubt preferable over a much larger dose of any of the previously mentioned diseases.

So, without question, the next week will be one of the most frantic of my life.  My lists are on the wall and will, fingers crossed, dwindle fast.  Anybody interested in a nice Mk1 Golf GTI cabriolet. . . . . . . . . ?

Gords.

P.S While you’re here, a few people have asked me to email them with updates now that this t’ing is genuinely happening.  If you look up to the right there’s a box that says Subscribe.  Enter your email address in the box, click subscribe and you will be sent an email to confirm your subscription.  Click the link on the email and boom boom POW, you’ll get an email every time I blog. (Which will probably be about once a day for the first week and then once a month thereafter!!)

This entry was posted in Pre amble. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Route-e-toot-toot!

  1. Tan says:

    Blimey! Go Gordy go!
    Have a wicked time mate.
    How much for the GTi?
    x

  2. Jojo says:

    Have a fab time sweetie, stay safe n hope to see you somewhere in the world, make sure u send me dates ur in new York and L.a, I will swap onto a flight n cum party wiv you x Enjoy mate, happy soul searching x

  3. Neil says:

    Have a blast Gordie, hope you have the time of your life.

    P.s let me know if you need a plus one for your lady-man for the wedding….

Leave a Reply

